The fight is on Saturday. Today is Tuesday. Hay is threatening to end his opponent’s career. He wants to physically maim a fellow professional and remove his chance to earn inside the ring in the future. So often the lead up to a professional boxing match involves talk of permanent damage to an opponent. I ask…

Is this the mindset of a glorious gladiator or of a mindless thug?
Should the promoters cancel the fight?

Hay quotes:
“I need to go out there and do a complete and utter destruction job on Tony Bellew. I want to make sure that is it – it’s over for him and that he is never fighting again”
“I don’t want him to come back and start defending his titles. He has disrespected me too much for that. I need to finish his career in one fight and I will do it”

Leave a Reply

